“I Drove My Tractor Through Your Haystack Last Night” ;)

In reference to my last post, I am well aware that I did not post “in the next couple days.” For that broken promise, I offer up the most sincere of apologies.

For music, let me (possibly re-)introduce to you, The Wurzels. As I’ve mentioned, I’m currently in England. Last week, I went to Bath, England, a beautiful place where you can still walk around in the famous Roman baths and look at all the kewl sculptures of famous war dudes of the classic era and such as part of a tour group. Our guide was the type who thought he had his finger on the pulse of American culture, and he had an American accent of matching accuracy (I could not tell you what word he was trying to say when he was demonstrating his linguistic prowess.).

Luckily, for the sake of our being tour-guided, his history knowledge was much more solid, and at the end of his tour-guidance he had a few recommendations for whoever was listening. One of these recommendations was the Bath-born band called The Wurzels. With classics like “I Want to be a Eddie Stobart Driver” and “Combine Harvester” (the opening lyric of which is featured in this post’s title), The Wurzels have made a space for themselves in the hearts of scrumpy cider drinkers and good ol’ country folk, as well as my friend Tess, who made me reconsider my original decision to leave the Wurzels to their primarily Bath-brewed cult following by sincerely loving their songs.

The Wurzels sound is what you would expect folksy, country, drinking songs to sound like at their root. They write what they know, giving their songs the personal feel that keeps their fans coming back for more. Don’t let their older sound fool you; they still perform today. Check them out if you’re looking for the perfect addition to your Pump-Up-4-The-Pub playlist or want to be a hit on your FarmersOnly.com dates.

In all sincerity, The Wurzels are a great listen for anyone who likes songs that don’t take themselves too seriously. These guys have fun with their music and you can hear it easily in their recordings. If anything, now you know about an obscure country band from England, and below is the perfect song for any romantic night with your significant other/celebration of a new combine harvester, and that “combination” doesn’t come along too often.

Leave a comment